Menu 

Driver’s Education

image of Savannah Tech's Driver's Education vehicle

Learning to drive is a major milestone in life. It’s important for young or inexperienced drivers to learn safe driving techniques.  The program offered by Savannah Technical College meets Joshua’s Law options that include 30-hours of classroom instruction and 6 additional hours of drive time with an instructor. Most insurance companies also give a reduction (approx. 10%) on insurance premiums upon successful completion.

Savannah Technical College provides a (DDS approved) Driver’s Education program in cooperation with the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission (GDEC). Participants must attend all class dates for the full class periods. If seeking a certificate of completion for 30-hours of classroom and 6-hours of driving, participants must also complete all six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving.

Cost for the course is $350 (You may be eligible for a scholarship and may begin the process by clicking on the picture below)

P.S. Follow the links on the left to learn more about our Move On When Ready program, which allows high school students to take academic degree level core courses, at zero tuition cost, that will transfer to any Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) or University System of Georgia (USG) institution.

30- Hour Classroom Instruction

This theoretical component consists of instruction in the following topics:

  • Managing Risk When Driving

  • Understanding Vehicle Space Needs, Natural Laws and Balance
  • Starting, Steering, and Stopping the Vehicle
  • Traffic Control Devices & Traffic Laws
  • Managing Risk: Vision & Perception, Time & Space
  • Sharing the Road with Others
  • Getting Acquainted with the Vehicle You Will Drive

  • The Effects of Distractions, Drowsiness, and Emotions on Driving

  • Adverse Driving Conditions and Emergencies
  • The Effects of Alcohol and other Drugs on Driving

  • Basic Maneuvers in a Low-Risk Environment

 Course Textbook: “How to Drive” -The Beginning Driver’s Manual

6-Hour Driving Lessons

The Department of Driver Services requires that parents/guardians invest at least 40-hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with their teen prior to taking their road test to get their license.

It is our focus to assist your student with the more difficult driving skills since our program only provides 6-hours of behind-the-wheel training. By the time your student reaches their first behind-the-wheel training session with the college, he/she will need to be able to successfully complete the following skills:

  • Basic driver preparation
  • Steering
  • Accelerating and slowing down smoothly
  • Turning right at intersections
  • Turning left at intersections

What to Expect

Training Lesson 1: The instructor will take the student to begin their in verify the skills listed above are satisfactory and then begin practice with parallel parking, turnabouts, and a very structured driving route to provide exposure ranging from light traffic to moderate traffic.

Training Lesson 2: When student arrive for the second lesson, they can expect longer exposure to moderate traffic and introduction to parkways and highways and to apply what was learned during lesson two.

Training Lesson 3: The final training will include a review of the previous lessons, longer exposure to moderate traffic, and introduction to interstate driving. Note: Students will be practicing entering and exiting off of Interstate 16. Practice with a parent/guardian prior to this lesson is recommended.

Download the DDS 40-Hr Parent/Teen Driving Guide

The Car

Each vehicle will be wrapped in “Student Driver” graphics to make other drivers aware that training is in progress.  The vehicles are  equipped with video monitoring capabilities to ensure the safety of all participants.

Simulators

Upon request, students will have the opportunity to complete training on a simulator that will provide advanced traffic safety training to students who are preparing to obtain their driver’s license.

 • Initial evaluation

• Face real-life situations thanks to the Free Driving module

• Master the vehicles (steeringwheel, gearbox, pedals, etc.)

• Students’ database to login and pick up from where they left off

Valid Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License Required

Any one with a valid learner’s permit or driver’s license can attend the course.

Scholarship Eligibility:

  • Georgia Students between the ages of 15 and 17 years old.
  • First priority is given to students who are children or dependents of a Georgia public safety professional or military personnel killed in the line of duty.
  • Second priority is given to students who demonstrate a financially based need.
  • Third priority is given to all students who do not qualify under the first and second priority.
  • Scholarships are awarded evenly by congressional district and are electronically selected at random in each priority level if the number of applicants exceeds the number of scholarships available.

Teen drivers and their parents or guardians may learn more or apply by visiting  www.georgiadrivers.ga.gov.

Cost: $350 (Includes Classroom & Behind-the-wheel)
Classroom Only (30 hours): $120
Behind-the-wheel Only (6 hours): $230

Scholarship Information: Beginning in January of 2017, the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission began a new scholarship program. Applications are now being accepted.

Location: Varies. Check the “Sessions” Tab!

Payment Options:  

We accept all credit/debit cards and money orders only. Credit/debit card payments can be accepted over the phone by calling 912-443-3012 or online. Money orders must be delivered to the Crossroads Campus at time of registration.

Savannah, GA - Savannah Tech Main Campus

January 2018 – Now Enrolling

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: January 6th, 13th, 20th, and 27th, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: January 3rd, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: David Oxford

March 2018 – Registration opens January 2018

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: March 3rd, 10th, 24th, 31st, 2018 – (No class on March 17th)
  • Registration Deadline: February 28th, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: David Oxford

May 2018 – Registration opens March 2018

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: May 5th, 12th, 19th, 26th, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: May 2nd, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: David Oxford

Pooler, GA - Savannah Tech Crossroads Campus

November 2017 – Now Enrolling

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates:  November 18th, December 2nd, December 9th, December 16th, 2017
  • Registration Deadline: November 15th, 2017
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: Tressa Gilmore

March 2018 – Registration opens January 2018

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: March 3rd, March 10th, 24th, 31st, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: February 28th, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: Tressa Gilmore
  • Available Seats: 40

May 2018 – Registration opens March 2018

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: May 5th, 12th, 19th, 26th, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: May 2nd, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: Tressa Gilmore
  • Available Seats: 40

Hinesville, GA - Savannah Tech Liberty Campus

November/December 2017 – Now Enrolling

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: November 18th, Dec. 2nd, Dec. 9th, Dec 16th, 2017
  • Registration Deadline: November 15th, 2017
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: Diane Crummey
  • Available Seats: 15

March 2018 – Registration opens January 2018

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: March 3rd, March 10th, 24th, 31st, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: February 28th, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: Diane Crummey
  • Available Seats: 40

May 2018 – Registration opens March 2018

  • Day(s) of the Week: Saturdays
  • Dates: May 5th, 12th, 19th, 26th, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: May 2nd, 2018
  • Times: 9am-5:30pm
  • Instructor: Diane Crummey
  • Available Seats: 40
Step 1: Complete The Registration Packet
Step 2: Tell a friend about the course! Share this page on Facebook, Twitter, or your favorite social media site.

Frequently Asked Questions:

How do I register for the driver's education course?

Great question! Just complete the registration form below that applies to you:

Scholarship Recipient Registration Form
Non-Scholarship Registration Form

It's raining outside and I have a behind-the-wheel training appointment today. Will it be cancelled?

The only time that we cancel a behind-the-wheel appointment due to weather is when there is a:

  • severe thunderstorm watch or warning
  • tropical storm watch or warning
  • hurricane watch or warning
  • tornado watch or warning

You may also choose to cancel an appointment if you or your child does not feel comfortable. However, this is a great opportunity to receive training of how to conduct yourself in less than perfect weather. If you would still like to cancel, send an email to continuinged@savannahtech.edu and to your instructor. Instructor emails can be found below:

To stay up-to-date on weather, download WTOC’s free weather app!

How much does the Driver's Ed course cost?

The cost for the class is $350. We accept all credit/debit cards and money orders only. Credit/debit card payments can be accepted via online payment or over the  phone by calling 912-443-3012. Money orders must be delivered to the Crossroads Campus at time of registration.

I can't make it to one of the classes in a session. Can I still take the course?

First, take a look to see if another session may work better with your schedule. If you will have to miss one of the classes, we encourage you to still sign up for the session. To make-up the missed date without charge, you will have to attend the meeting day of another session that matches up to the part of the class you missed. (Example: the 1st meeting day =Part 1, 2nd meeting day = Part 2 and so on).

If you are unable to attend another session’s meeting day, then for a fee- you can enroll in one of our available make-up dates offered every 2 months. The fee is $75 per student. Just send a note to continuinged@savannahtech.edu and we’ll provide available make-up dates.

How does the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship Program work?

We’re glad you asked. It all starts when teen drivers and their parents or guardians apply by completing an online application by visiting www.georgiadrivers.ga.gov.

  • Online applications are due by the 5th day of each month.
  • Students and parents are notified by email by the 20th of each month if the application has been awarded or denied.
  • Students have 30 days from the date of the scholarship award to choose an authorized driver’s education provider and present their scholarship redemption code to enroll in a 30/6 driver’s education course. Students have 180 days from the date of the scholarship award to complete the 30/6 course.More details can be found here.

Who is eligible to apply for the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship Program?

We thought you might ask that question. It’s all outlined below:

  • Georgia Students between the ages of 15 and 17 years old.
  • First priority is given to students who are children or dependents of a Georgia public safety professional or military personnel killed in the line of duty.
  • Second priority is given to students who demonstrate a financially based need..
  • Third priority is given to all students who do not qualify under the first and second priority.
  • Scholarships are awarded evenly by congressional district and are electronically selected at random in each priority level if the number of applicants exceeds the number of scholarships available.

What is Joshua's Law?

Joshua’s Law is a bill that changes the requirements that teen drivers must meet in order to obtain a Class D driver’s license.

To get a Class D driver’s license at age sixteen (16):

  • You must have completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services and
  • You also must have completed a cumulative total of at least forty (40) hours of other supervised driving experience, including at least six (6) hours at night.

If you have not completed an approved driver’s education course, you cannot get your Class D driver’s license until you reach age seventeen (17). Remember, forty (40) hour of driving experience, including six (6) hours of driving at night, is always required for a Class D driver’s license.

Am I required to take a driver education course to obtain my Class D driver's license?

It depends on your age at the time you apply for your Class D Georgia Driver’s License.

  • If you are 16 years of age, you will be required to show proof that you successfully completed a driver education course approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).  In addition, you must have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.
  • If you are age 17 or older, you will not be required to show proof that you completed a driver education course.  However, you will still be required to have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.

What is TADRA?

TADRA,the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act, is a graduated driver’s license program for young drivers ages 15 to 18.

Three- Step Process in TADRA

Step 1: Instructional Permit (Class CP License)

Step 2: Intermediate License (Class D License)

Step 3: Full License ( Class C)

What if I only what Behind-the-Wheel Training? Can I take that with you and for how much?

You sure can! Each appointment is 2-hours in length.The cost per 2-hour appointment is $76.66. A fee scale is provided below:

  • One 2-hour appointment = $76.66
  • Two 2-hour appointments = $153
  • Three 2-hour appointments = $230

To receive a certificate of completion to provide to the DDS, all 6-hours of behind-the-wheel training need to be completed. We also do not recommend any more than 6 hours of drive time in one-day.

How does lunch work during the course?

Lunch will be from 12:00 – 12:30 p.m. each day. Students are responsible for their own lunch. Select campuses (Crossroads/Liberty) will have vending machines available for students. There are not any stores or restaurants within walking distance of the campus. It is highly encouraged that students bring a lunch. Students may not leave campus.

What are the hours of the program?

This course consists of 30-hours of classroom instruction followed by 6-hours of behind-the-wheel driving with a certified driving instructor. Parents can sign him/her up for the 6-hours of driving through our online appointment scheduler. This link will be provided in the email confirming your enrollment in the course. Participants will also have the opportunity to use driving simulators (by appointment only).

Class is currently held from 9am-5:30pm each date of the scheduled course.

What is the attendance policy?

In order to receive the certificate of completion, students must complete the 30 hours of classroom and the 6 hours of driving. If a session is missed, the student will need to complete the necessary makeup days to meet GDEC requirements before certificate can be issued.

What is the pick-up procedure?

Parents are responsible for picking up students on time at the end of class. Students will only be released to their parent/guardian or those specified on the Student release form.

Can I only take the Classroom Training?

This depends on how you’re paying for the course. If you are a scholarship recipient you must take both the classroom & behind the wheel training.  If you are not a scholarship recipient, you can choose to attend the classroom training only. The cost for the classroom is $120. To receive a certificate of completion,  all 30 hours of the class must be completed AND you must receive a grade of 70% or better. If any part of a class is missed, you will be subject to fees to cover make-up day sessions if you would still like to complete the course.

How do I pass the Driver's Education Program?

To receive a certificate of completion for the 30-hours of classroom training and 6 hours of behind the wheel training:

  • All 30 hours of the class must be completed AND you must receive a grade of 70% or better.
  • All 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training must be completed AND satisfactorily.

If any part of a class or behind-the wheel training is missed, you will be subject to fees to cover make-up day sessions if you would still like to complete the course.

Will I receive a certificate of completion once I pass the Driver's Education Program?

Certificates of Completion will be issued once a student completes the full Drivers education program.  Students must remember to keep the original copy of their certificate for Department of Driver Services and for insurance purposes. There is a $10.00 fee for re-printing of completion certificates.

To receive a certificate of completion for the 30-hours of classroom training and 6 hours of behind the wheel training:

  • All 30 hours of the class must be completed AND you must receive a grade of 70% or better.
  • All 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training must be completed AND satisfactorily.

If any part of a class or behind-the wheel training is missed, you will be subject to fees to cover make-up day sessions if you would still like to complete the course.

My question wasn't answered. How can I reach you?

We’d be glad to help you. Send us an email at continuinged@savannahtech.edu with the subject line “Driver’s Ed Question”. Prefer to chat? Call us at 912-443-3012. If you don’t reach us, leave us a message and we’ll get right back to you.

Please read the information below prior to signing your teen up for their behind-the-wheel training appointments.

The Department of Driver Services requires that parents/guardians invest at least 40-hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with their teen prior to taking their road test to get their license.

It is our focus to assist your student with the more difficult driving skills since our program only provides 6-hours of behind-the-wheel training.

By the time your student signs up for their first behind-the-wheel training session with the college, he/she will need to be able to successfully complete the following skills:

  • Basic driver preparation
  • Steering
  • Accelerating and slowing down smoothly
  • Turning right at intersections
  • Turning left at intersections

What to Expect

Training Session 1: The instructor will take the student to verify the skills listed above are satisfactory and will then begin practice with parallel parking, turnabouts, and a very structured driving route to provide exposure ranging from light traffic to moderate traffic.

Training Session 2: When students arrive for the second session, they can expect longer exposure to moderate traffic and introduction to parkways and highways and to apply what was learned during lesson two.

Training Session 3: The final training will include a review of the previous lessons, longer exposure to moderate traffic, and introduction to interstate driving. Note: Students will be practicing entering and exiting off of Interstate 16 and/or Interstate 95. Practice with a parent/guardian prior to this lesson is strongly recommended.

Download the DDS 40-Hr Parent/Teen Driving Guide

By signing your student up for the training appointment, you are confirming that your student is a)able to successfully demonstrate the skills above during their first training appointment and b) has completed 60% of the 30-hr course and is in good standing(averaging 70% or better).

Appointments can be scheduled by visiting the setmore link provided in your welcome email after registering. If you would like to register for behind the wheel training only, have any questions or need the link sent to you again, you may send an email to continuinged@savannahtech.edu or call 912-443-3012.