TCSG, Mercer University Sign Articulation Agreement

Atlanta – The leadership of the Technical College System of Georgia and Mercer University have signed an articulation agreement that creates new education opportunities for TCSG students who graduate with an associate’s degree from any of the 19 TCSG colleges that are accredited by the Southern Association of College and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

Under the agreement, which was signed on August 18, students who complete their associate’s degree from a SACSCOC-accredited TCSG college can transfer their college credits toward a bachelor’s degree in one of the following nine programs offered by Mercer’s College of Continuing and Professional Studies or Tift College of Education:

General Education

Human Resources Administration and Development

Human Services


Organizational Leadership

Public Safety

Early Childhood Special Education

Middle Level Education

Early Care and Education

“We’re grateful to Mercer University Provost Wallace Daniel and his faculty and staff for their desire to partner with the TCSG on this articulation agreement and open new doors of opportunity for our students. It creates a seamless pathway for eligible TCSG graduates who want to continue their higher education and earn a bachelor’s degree from one of Georgia’s great private universities,” said TCSG Commissioner Ron Jackson.

Candidates must meet all requirements for admission to Mercer University and the appropriate degree program. For more information about Mercer, go to

Nineteen of the 25 TCSG colleges are accredited by SACSCOC. Those colleges are: Albany Technical College, Athens Technical College, Atlanta Technical College, Augusta Technical College, Central Georgia Technical College, Chattahoochee Technical College, Columbus Technical College, DeKalb Technical College, Georgia Northwestern Technical College, Gwinnett Technical College, Middle Georgia Technical College, North Georgia Technical College, Okefenokee Technical College, Savannah Technical College, Southeastern Technical College, Southern Crescent Technical College, Southwest Georgia Technical College, West Georgia Technical College and Wiregrass Georgia Technical College.

The remaining six TCSG colleges are accredited by the separate Council on Occupational Education, although each is currently involved in the process to also earn its SACSCOC accreditation. Those six colleges are: Altamaha Technical College, Lanier Technical College, Moultrie Technical College, Oconee Fall Line Technical College, Ogeechee Technical College and South Georgia Technical College.

Savannah Technical College serves Coastal Georgia with quality, market-driven technical education with campus locations in Chatham, Effingham and Liberty Counties. Serving more than 10,000 credit and non-credit students annually, Savannah Tech offers nearly 150 different instructional programs in Aviation Technology, Business and Professional Services, Industrial Technology, and Health Sciences in addition to Adult Education classes, industry-specific training and continuing education. The College serves as an economic and community development partner for the region, offering corporate and customized training and assessment programs for business and industry.

Savannah Technical College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate degrees, diplomas and technical certificates of credit. Questions about the accreditation of Savannah Technical College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (