Savannah Technical College Students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

SAVANNAH – Savannah Technical College inducted 47 students into its 2019 class for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society’s Beta Xi Tau Chapter recently. To be eligible for membership, students must have completed a minimum of 12 degree-level semester credit hours and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The STC Beta Xi Tau Chapter now has nearly 600 members.

Chapter co-presidents, Renea Hanna and William Boyle-Wheeler, along with advisors, Dr. Jordan Kiser, Jim Burch, Tonya Byrd, and Troy Cook, presided over the ceremony. Savannah Technical College’s 2019 Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year James Halford gave the keynote address.

Congratulations to the 2019 Phi Theta Kappa inductees:

  • Heysi Alvarez-Rodas (Logistics Management),
  • Royce Anderson (Marketing Management),
  • Amber-Lee Bananni (Dental Hygiene),
  • Mikayla Batema (Networking),
  • Reginald Boudreau (Business Management),
  • Stephanie Burke (Business Management),
  • Williesha Campbell-Jenkins (Culinary Baking and Pastry Arts),
  • Lena Comer (Dental Hygiene),
  • Cheri Dana (Construction Management),
  • Charlotte Danquah (Logistics Management),
  • Crystal Derevensky (Dental Hygiene),
  • Katherine Fenno (Historic Preservation),
  • Cameron Gerrald (Surgical Technology),
  • Craig Giroux (Electrical and Computer Engineering),
  • Trisha Golston (Business Management),
  • Heather Graves (Culinary Arts and Hotel, Tourism, Restaurant Management),
  • Christopher Harmon (Electrical and Computer Engineering),
  • Stacy Hoskins (Paralegal),
  • Savannah Lynn Hughes (Business Management),
  • Taylor Jenkins (Dental Hygiene),
  • Arnold Ky (Electrical and Computer Engineering),
  • Krystina Langan (Industrial Systems),
  • Karen Lawler (Culinary Baking and Pastry Arts),
  • Christian Lewis (Culinary Arts),
  • Joao Lima (Electrical and Computer Engineering),
  • Monica Mackay (Surgical Technology),
  • Anthony Joe Martinez (Information Technology),
  • Jennifer McGuire (Hotel, Restaurant, Tourism Management),
  • Matthew Minter (Logistics Management),
  • Y Nu Nhu Nguyen (Early Childhood Care and Education),
  • Charter Nickles (Paralegal),
  • Tanya North (Dental Hygiene),
  • Harsh Patel (Information Technology),
  • Michaela Rahn (Health Care Science),
  • Kamberly Richmond (Surgical Technology),
  • Shelli Roberson (Business Technology),
  • Madison Rogers (Health Care Science),
  • Ashley Sanders (Accounting),
  • Melissa Smiley (Business Management),
  • Claudia Spriggs (Marketing Management),
  • Kimberly Streker (Culinary Baking and Pastry Arts),
  • Yvette Tillman (Dental Hygiene),
  • Bethany Trotter (Dental Hygiene),
  • Dawn Underwood (Business Management),
  • Alfreida Walthour (Construction Management) ,
  • Lauren West (Interdisciplinary Studies), and
  • John Wilhelm (Drafting).

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 and is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges.


#1941 | April 25, 2019
Media Contact: Amy Shaffer, APR
912.443.5512 or 

Savannah Technical College serves Coastal Georgia with quality, market-driven technical education with campus locations in Chatham, Effingham and Liberty Counties. Serving more than 10,000 credit and non-credit students annually, Savannah Tech offers nearly 150 different instructional programs in Aviation Technology, Business and Professional Services, Industrial Technology, and Health Sciences in addition to Adult Education classes, industry-specific training and continuing education. The College serves as an economic and community development partner for the region, offering corporate and customized training and assessment programs for business and industry.

Savannah Technical College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate degrees, diplomas and technical certificates of credit. Questions about the accreditation of Savannah Technical College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (