Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year

The Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. 

Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the Rick Perkins Award was renamed in memory and honor of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, now West Georgia Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death. TCSG provides oversight for the Rick Perkins Award program through the system office’s programming staff, the presidents’ Academic Improvement committee and the state planning committee.

Chef Alex Lewis in kitchen
George Erwin on River Street
Science Instructor Brandon Robinson
Joycelin Primus
Rushe Hudzinski
James Halford
Michael Skinner
Laura Kyser
Debra Geiger
English Literature and Composition Instructor Sarah Hunt
Emergency Medical Service instructor Lahoma Patton
Susan Pinkston
Jean Vendeville
Cinda Young
Academic Dean Business and Technologies Division Brendan Ferrara
Rick Perkins Award
Vic Burke
Benjamin Rodriguez
Tom Thompson
Michele Creel
Heather Walker
Ernest Johnson
John Clark
Marvis Hinson
Sally Rountree Klein
Lester Wiggins
Victoria Agyekum